Duration of cooking

Hi,
I’m new to anova. From my understanding if you cook something at a set temperature the result should be the same whatever length of time you cook it if you stay under 4 hours. which make sense to me. but my experiments show something different.
I’ve tried with egg, at 62 celsius, they are very different if i cook them 40 min or 1h30.
the same with carrots, i’ve cooked them 1h at 80 celsius, they were very crunchy, if i let them for 2 hours they are more soft.
is it normal? can somebody explain that.

thanks

@cedric things left in a heated water will continue to cook once you’ve hit your done mark. Many foods are very forgiving of you go over by a half hour or so: pork, chicken, beef, etc. Other foods are less forgiving: eggs, fish, and the like. You cannot leave the food in the water indefinitely. I’m not sure where you heard as long as it’s less than 4 hours, but that’s not always true. Really tough cuts like pork butt, brisket, ribs, etc, you can. Not so much tender cuts, fish, eggs, etc. Hope that helps.

1 Like

Here is a great article on eggs.

Brian has described the differences perfectly.

Here is the perfect calculator for egg

1 Like

The idea that you can’t overcook food with the sous vide method is erroneous. Not really sure how that idea came about, probably just someone misunderstanding what they were witnessing.

I’ve not really had much to do with cooking vegetables sous vide, but I love playing with my Anova for cooking eggs in-shell. In fact, if I was never to use it for anything other than eggs I’d still consider it a worthwhile investment. Yup, I love eggs and I love being able to tweak the texture of the yolk to be anything from pouring cream to Dali-esque ooze. But I digress.