Is a vacuum sealer really necesary?

I am new to sous vide and just picked up an aonva. I was wondering how important it was to get a vacuum sealer? Iv seen a lot of videos and read a lot of people just use zip lock and do water immersion. Can i just be able to do that or am i taking away from not using a vacuum sealer?

Yep, I don’t use a vacuum sealer at all (now mind you, I’ve only been doing this for a few months myself) :slight_smile:   The zip locks work just fine, provided you’re good at getting the air out. :slight_smile:

Thanks. Iv’e been doing the stick a straw in and suck the air out of the bag method. Seems to be working. Thanks again sir!

Make sure you are using the thicker bags. The cheap weak ones have been known to fail. Also if you are cooking vegetables at a higher temperature watch the bag for leaks. I use both and have not seen any difference in the results.

Don’t use them for high temperature or long duration cooking. Most newer bags are micro-vented and will start to fail in minutes (small vent perforations under the zipper which will let water leech into the bag- if you have some ziploc bags in your kitchen go look at them).

Any of the big companies selling zip-lock bags will tell you not to do it (don’t take my word for it- shoot them an email) and that they cannot be held responsible if you were to poison yourself with their bags while using them in an unintended manner.

Yes you can use them, but when you get serious about your cooking you will get a vacuum sealer and use “food safe” (lets just call them “safer than ziploc”) bags. I know that’s not going to be a real popular answer, but I’m too old and set in my ways not to tell it how it is. Haha
Good luck.

@Snow, good points (re: micro-vented) - for any long cooks I’d always use freezer bags as they’re thicker and more durable.  Yes, I’ve had the small sandwich style fail - they’re quite flimsy and prone to failure.