Sous Vide a Whole Goose

Hi:
This is my first time on this board.

Below is how I cook my Goose for Christmas. What I need to know is if I can sous vide the goose getting the same flavours and without it being greasy. I have to cook two.
Any suggestions how I would go about this?

ROAST GOOSE:

Remove all loose fat from goose.

Reserve gizzard, heart, neck and wing tips for Giblet Gravy.

Wipe Goose inside and out with damp cloth and dry thoroughly.

If desired, remove wishbone for easier carving.

Rub goose inside and out with lemon half, squeezing juice over bird as you work.

Sprinkle cavity lightly with salt & pepper.

Stuff neck cavity of goose lightly with your choice of stuffing; fasten neck skin to body with a skewer.

Stuff body cavity lightly with remaining stuffing; skewer or sew closed; tie legs and wings close to the body.

With darning needle, prick skin all over to allow fat to escape during roasting.

If using a thermometer, insert deep into inner thigh muscle, making sure it doesn’t rest on bone.

Place goose breast side down on a rack in shallow roasting pan.

Pour 2 cups (500ml) of boiling water over.

Roast, uncovered, in 400F (200c)oven for 30 minutes; reduce heat to 325F and roast for 1 hour longer.

Pour off and discard liquid in pan;baste with 1/4 cup of warmed wine.

Turn goose over; prick again with abneedle and pour remaining boiling water (2cups)over.

Roast for 1 hour longer.

Prick goose again.

Pour off and discard drippings in pan.

Baste with remaining wine and roast for 1-1/2 to 2 hrs. longer or until juices run clear when thigh is pierced and thermometer registers 190F(90C).

Total roasting time is 4 to 4-1/2hrs for a 10 to 11lb.goose.

Transfer goose to cutting board, cover loosely with foil and let stand for 15 minutes to seal in juices before carving.

Serves 8.

1 Like

Why mess with perfection? It works for you in the oven…

I’m not sure if SV will yield good results for a whole bird because of the body cavity.