Regarding seasoning and searing...

Hello folks,

I am new to Sous Vide cooking, but a long-time griller. I have been browsing the recipes all night and find a lot of inconsistency regarding seasoning. For example, I saw a nice-looking steak recipe that calls for 7 hours on the bag with no seasoning… just the meat. Then, adding the seasoning just for the 2 - 5 minutes of searing. Is that typical?

Do you guys season the meat while on the Sous Vide, or add it later?

Also, any tips for searing steaks and pork on a 425 degree grill (pre-heated for 10 mins)?

Thanks!

You can season in the bag or only before the sear, it’s up to you. I go back and forth, but generally speaking, I find that

1. USDA (graded beef) select and some iffy choice benefits from seasoning in the bag.
    1.5) don’t fark up prime steak and such with spices in the bag.
  2. Beef and lamb roasts benefit greatly from the long cook with herbs in the bag
  3. Beef steaks are typically cooked for 2 hours give or take and that’s not long enough for beef to pick up much unless you pour the herbs and spices in the bag.
  4. Pork is a different story. Commercial pork is so lacking in flavor that it needs all the help it can get and any spices in the bag will help.
  5. Chicken - commercial, see pork above times 10. Recommend drowning in sauce too.
  6. Air chilled chicken and heritage pork (ie: Duroc) - much better flavors, back off the spices. They actually taste like they should.
  7. Commercial lamb like the stuff imported from NZ isn’t bad but it’s a bit bland for me and needs spices in the bag. Local lamb, or mutton will hold it’s own - any spices in the bag are to enhance it, not give it some flavor.

Even if you forget all of that, remember this one thing:
When pulling the meat from the bag, dry it off, then season it, then sear it.

That will make all the difference. Otherwise, you are steaming the meat.

Hope that helps some.

1 Like

Thanks @acs !