Why Cant i make good steaks?

I am pretty new to sous vide. Had my machine for a while but never have used it a lot. Everytime I make steak I am really dissapointed. I look at all pictures of medium rare steaks cooked sous vide and they look amazing. When I cook, they look very unappetizing. I can never seem to get that medium rare texture/color. I used a differnt thermometer to make sure the reading on the anova was the same and everything matched. Here is an example of a steak I cooked at 131 for 1 hour and just seared each side on a pan for 1 min on each side.

The picture looks more vibrant than what the steak actually is. It seems more like a well done steak that tastes boiled. Any ideas what I am doing wrong :sweat:

Hmm, maybe try searing it for shorter amount of time? Make sure the oil is very hot, and sear it for 30 seconds each side. Also play around with the cook times and sous vide it for maybe 45 minutes instead of an hour.

Thanks. I thought the whole point of sous vide was you let it cook and you walk away and dont worry about it because it will never overcook. Ha! maybe i bought into the advertisement too much!

I can see the whip marks where the jockey was hitting that animal.

Try a better cut or better grade, or both, of meat. Also, try thicker, that looks like about 3/4". Way too thin.

Go find a 1.5" choice or prime ribeye. Cook it for an hour at 103F, then an hour at 120F, finally go for 3 hours at 129, Dry it, sear it, try it and then make your judgments, You won’t be disappointed.

3 Likes

Why the creep up the temperature scale over the 5 hours? Or are you suggesting trying 3 different cooks to compare the outcomes?

The enzymes in the meat that are responsible for the tenderizing that occurs during both dry and wet aging are very happy at those temps and will do a fair bit of work in short order to help tenderize the steak.