cholent

can CHOLENT be cooked sous vide ?
anyone has tried or has a recipe ?

Y, if you mean, - can it be successfully SV cooked?
The answer is no.

The SV cooking technique is used for precise cooking. Cooked mixtures of meat, starches and vegetables don’t succeed because the ingredients have significantly different SV cooking times and temperatures.

1 Like

I think I disagree with this, @chatnoir, and I wonder if that’s because I am a complete noob and missing something. So I will challenge your response in the equal hopes of education or vindication: Isn’t Cholent essentially a stew? I cook all components of a stew from raw in the same pot, so why not in the same sous vide bag?

Educate or vindicate – Hit me!

:slight_smile:
(Humbly, Joe)

If it CAN be SV’ed, the recipe here (Cholent - Jewish Slow-Cooked Stew - Recipe & History) suggests 200 degrees for 12-16 hours in an oven, or Low in a slow cooker for 16 hours. So I would think you could sv it for 12-16 hours at 200 and get a similar experience. Again, educate or vindicate this hopeless noob.

Joe, since you disagree with my experience using the SV cooking technique you might better learn from having your own experience.
Cook a batch of Cholent for yourself.

Please keep a detailed record that will enable you to share your experience with this Community. If i were doing a SV test cook of a conventionally cooked menu item it would be a small batch. Besides in Ottawa now you can’t invite the neighbours and extended family over to sample your outcome. A small batch will be more forgiving of errors, particularly with respect to the correct fluid content for complete cooking of the dry ingredients. When developing a recipe i weigh the ingredients which help me calculate the total necessary amount of fluids. Once the SV bag is sealed, there’s no adjustments possible.