First Timer ... with not so perfect results

I am new to the sous vide world and have used my Anova twice – both times for cooking meat. The first was thick bone-in pork chops, both in the same bag. One was perfect, the other a little overcooked for my taste. In sous vide for 2 hours at 140. Both were seared in a hot cast iron skillet for about 25 second on each side. My second time was 1-1/2 inch strip steaks – sought medium rare, got far end of medium well. 2 hours at 130, seared about same 40 second each side. Should I just cook them for less, like 1 hour 30 or 40 minutes? Should I separate steaks/chops into separate bags. Seeking some expert help here. Many thanks.

When I first started out with sous vide cooking I had similar results as a result of not drying the surface of the meat sufficiently. This resulted in a small amount of steaming that would overcook my steaks. Once I started being more diligent in drying the meat post-sous vide I was getting better results. I also found that allowing the steaks to sit uncovered for 5 to 15 minutes would help the drying and cool the surface slightly giving me a bit of a buffer against overcooking when searing.

When cooking two steaks in a single bag, ensure that they’re “side-by-side” in a single layer rather than “stacked”.

stevej makes some good points, letting the meat rest and dry after a sous vide is helpful. How the meat is placed in both the bag and the container can cause some variation. Having a wire rack on the bottom of the container is helpful to keep the water circulating around the entire piece of meat. If you seared the chops one after the other, the pan may have cooled too much by the time the second one went on the heat. That could account for difference in temperature.

Thanks for the tips and info. Appreciate it.

Greg, let’s work together and do some culinary problem solving.

First, the pork chops.