Floating - Vegetarian

Good morning! I have some issues cooking sous vide. I’m a vegetarian and cook lots of meals without meat, mainly alternatives such as tofu and of course vegetables. Last week I tried chamber vacuum sealing (default 30 seconds, VP112) some vegetarian meat product along with some organic carrots, oil and seasonings. Stored in the fridge for a few days. Last night took it out and sous vide using the Anova One machine at 85C for 25 minutes. The first few minutes were fine, until the bag started to produce gas/air and floated to the top of the water bath. I tried everything to weigh it down but it just would not stay down. Maybe I didn’t use enough vacuum time? The seal was perfect, no leakage. Do you have any suggestions, tips or tricks? Maybe I am doing something wrong in the process?

Thanks

1 Like

@rjruiz‌ Hi ! I am vegetarian - I love doing my veggies sous vide. I use a zip lock bag for my produce - it’s easier and no issues with air puffing up inside bag. Also, RE the floating - simply use a larger office paper clip & clip the ziplock bag to the side of the pot - it works like a charm :slight_smile: Thanks & let me know if anything else comes up !

1 Like

Thanks nvaughn! I have tried using the clips on the side but it just floated to the top because there was so much gas and it was sealed, I guess I should’ve just used a ziplock bag for veggies.