Time and Temps

I am new to sous vide and cooked my first meal yesterday. I think in English you would call the meat I used a veal eye of round roast, not sure. In Switzerland where I live it is called a “Kalb falsches filet”.

I was going crazy trying to determine the correct temperature and time by reading comments and information on the Web. The two extremes I found for a 5cm roast (cylinder) were 61C for 1 hr 45 min; the other 57C for 16 hrs. I know that time determines texture and temperature determines desired doneness, but I cannot reconcile how the same thickness of meat can have such extreme recommendations. Is the meat that much more tender after 16 hrs than let’s say after 3 hrs?

I’d like to have some explanation and advice on how to determine cooking times and temps.

The difference you see is due to the toughness of the meat. If the meat is tough you will need a longer time. For example steaks from the “Huft” region of the beef are very tender and have shorter times. If it is from the “Schulter” you may need to cook it for 24 to 48 hours. I have never done veal sous vide so I am of no help. I hope the general guideline helps a bit.

The information on Douglas Baldwin’s site is pretty much the Sous Vide “bible” for a lot of people. LOTS of information there (worth a bookmark).

http://www.douglasbaldwin.com/sous-vide.html

I probably didn’t explain it properly. The differences I was describing were for the same cut of meat… This is the issue I can’t understand. Same cut, 14 hour difference in cook time. The veal falsches filet is a fairly tender piece of meat costing approximately CHF 90.00 per kilo or about $48.00 per pound.