APO: Heating Spiral Ham

I’d like to try heating the holiday spiral ham in the APO this year. I’m still out of my comfort zone creating my own settings for recipes that aren’t in the app. I was thinking sous vide mode at 140 degrees, but wasn’t sure about steam percentage or how to estimate how much time for a 12 pounder.

Considering it’s just going to be the 4 of us in the house, I was also thinking instead of heating the entire ham, maybe I’d just cut off one section and basically heat a stack of slices.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Since no-one has responded to this, I (a complete noob, mind you!) will make a suggestion based on my exceptionally limited experience (had ours for 10 days), my look at what the other recipes do, and blind faith that if I steer you wrong, someone will jump all over me on it, in which case, I will have taken a virtual bullet for your Christmas ham (a completely reasonable bargain from my point of view).

All disclaimers apply about not relying on advice, not fit for any particular purpose, can’t sue me if your ham is ruined or someone gets sick, blah, blah, blah…

I would do a cook using the temperature probe rather than time. Here in Ottawa, a spiral ham is actually a proper leg, bone-in, that comes improperly cooked and must be heated to temperature to be safe. If it were me (and it would have been, except my son – part of my bubble, so it’s okay, okay? :slight_smile: – is bringing the ham), I would

• Set the probe temperature to 145, steam to 50% and cook it for as long as it takes for the probe to reach temperature. I’m guessing 3-4 hours, but it could be longer. But you can hold food at a given temperature, so I’d start it at least four hours ahead, and…
  • If it reached 145 too early, I’d then hold it using the oven temp (not the probe temp) at 142, 50% steam until 45 minutes or so before dinner. You’re no longer cooking, you’re just holding, so you should be fine. At that point…