Can I use sous vide to circulate cold liquids?

I’m new to sous vide and was wondering if it’s possible to use it to cool food instead of heat it. For instance, if I wanted to keep a liquid bath at 0 degrees F (-17.8 C), can I use the sous vide machine to do that?

I know the machine doesn’t have refrigerant in it, so I’d have to cool the bath with something else, but I need the temperature to remain at a constant 0 degrees and sous vide seems like it would be a really good option to circulate/maintain that temperature. I just don’t know if it can operate at such a low temp. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Even if you could cool the water to that temperature, I believe the APC can only be set down to a temperature of 32 F / 0 C and will attempt to heat the water up to that temperature if it is colder.

Understood. You’re right, I wouldn’t be using water in this situation since it would be solid at that temp, but I am curious if the sous vide machine can just be set to circulate without it trying to raise the temperature.

I’m not aware of a way to turn off that functionality since that is the main purpose of the unit (circulate heated water in order to maintain a uniform temperature for cooking). It seems like there would be other options better suited to what you want to do. Perhaps a submersible pump used for landscaping water features.

That makes sense, I’ll try looking into a few other options. Thanks for the input!

I would be really interested to see circulating water that is colder than 0 °C…

Salt water can be below 0C and still fluid.

Yes, I’m aware of that. And the conditions under which this might happen don’t occur in the container for an immersion circulator.

Eric, the Sous Vide technique cooks vacuum packaged foods in heated water. It’s a system that adds controlled amounts of heat and circulates it. it’s not possible to reverse its function.