Ice Bath Questions - Coming from Mellow Device

I recently used a Mellow and loved it until it broke and I am deciding on replacing it or moving to Anova. The feature I liked best in the Mellow is that it can keep it cool while I am at work and then heat up and start cooking at the precise time to be finished when I get home at a specific time of day.

I know a little about the Anova Ice bath feature but want to know if they have ever gotten a feature yet to where I can just set it and forget it in the morning?

I believe the icebath feature starts cooking when the temperature gets too warm.

Sous vide is very forgiving with time though. There’s not much difference between 2 hours on a steak and 4, for instance.

I am pretty new to sous vide only through my Mellow. Why is this with the temperature?

Not quite sure exactly what you mean, but let’s try.

First thing to remember is the basic mantra: Temperature for doneness. Time for tenderness.

What this means is that the temperature you set for your device, whether it’s a water bath style like the Mellow or an immersion circulator like the Anovas, you food can never get hotter than this. So a bath temp of 130F can’t produce a steak that’s 135F. That’s the obvious bit of the process.