Pre-Searing meat before freezing and cooking tip requests

I like to use my device so I can cook my dinner and have it ready when I get home from work late at night. I’m new to sous vide and have been experimenting, but I had some questions on how to pre pack the meat for sous vide without having to replace the vacuum seal bag. For example. can I pre-sear the meat, vacuum seal it in a bag, THEN freeze it? Also, What is the general ideal temperature for cooking meat, vegetables and other items over a 10 hour period with minimal risk of bacterial growth?

@Gantros welcome to the forum and Sous Vide cooking! Some people will sear meat before placing it in the Sous Vide while most folks sear it when it comes out of the Sous Vide (in some cases in addition to the pre-sear). The trick is to sear it at hot enough a temperature that you get a good finish without over cooking the meat. As far as temperatures are concerned, the Anova site has a pretty good “crib sheet” at What is Sous Vide? | Everything You Need To Know – Anova Culinary and if you want (a LOT!!) more information on pasteurization temperatures and Sous Vide temperatures, check out: http://www.douglasbaldwin.com/sous-vide.html. Everyone ends up with their own ideal temperatures after some experimentation so these guides are just the start. For me, most fish is ideal at 50C, lamb and beef at 55C, pork at 57C and chicken at 62C. Naturally your mileage may vary.

As far as vacuum sealing, it’s really up to you. First of all you don’t have to use a vacuum sealer to get good results. If you want to prepare the food ahead of time for the sous vide, you can add all the spices and liquids to fresh protein and vacuum seal it then freeze it. They will last a long time that way. Most protein can be cooked from a frozen state if you add more time (you have to experiment but for smallish cuts (< 1 inch thick) I usually add an hour.

Good luck and please report back on results.