Water displacement vs vacuum sealer

Hi all!

I’m new to sous vide and want to make the most of it. That being said, is there a big difference from getting an actual vacuum sealer machine compared to using a ziplock bag and water displacement? Has anyone tried both and would fervently advocate for purchasing a machine? I’d like to save on costs but if its necessary or makes a big difference, I’d get a machine. Is there any specific machine thats recommended?

I’ve only had my device for a few weeks, but I’ve gone with water displacement exclusively and have had terrific results. In my opinion, if it’s working well I don’t see a strong reason to invest in another piece of hardware. That being said, if you want to get into the game of going directly from frozen into the water, spending another $30-50 on a vacuum sealer wouldn’t be a bad idea.

I have an old foodsaver that I use for most of my cooks because I like going directly from the freezer to the bath, but I’ve used the displacement method on stuff like fresh fish with great results.

I have been using the Foodsaver vacuum sealer, for years, to store meats in the freezer, in portion sized packages. They keep forever, and are easy to thaw and prepare, on short notice. I swear by it.

This is not a plug, but America’s Test Kitchen’s magazine, Cook’s Country, recently reviewed vacuum sealers and they raved about the Weston Professional Advantage Vacuum Sealer ($189.99) (“Highly Recommended”). The Waring Pro Pistol Vac Professional Vacuum Sealer System was a “Recommended Best Buy”, at $69.95. The Foodsaver got a “Recommended With Reservations” rating, too, but I like my Foodsaver.

I think I could take a package of frozen food directly from the freezer to the tub or pot filled with cold tap water, bring everything up to target temperature together, and then start the timer. I’m hoping other cooks here will relate their experiences with this technique.