Water temp

How long does it take to get my Anova vessel to 130°F.
It seems to me I shouldn’t put my steak in until it’s the correct temperature. And should I let the sealed bag sit out or put in water bath immediately from refrigerator?
I’m very new at this.

My process is to fill the vessel with hot tap water. This significantly reduces the time required for the water to reach temperature. It depends how much water you are heating and your starting point to give a time estimate. Using hot tap water and a pot that is not overly large it won’t take long. I put my meat in the hot water and start timing when it reaches cooking temperature.

What John said! And you can take your meat directly from the fridge, put it in the cooking vessel and start the timer when the water reaches the set temp. You can take it directly from the freezer also, just add half an hour or so. Steak is not that sensitive to time.

Dr. Douglas Baldwin’s Practical Guide to Sous Vide, Table 2.3 seems to suggest otherwise, with for instance 135 minutes for a 30 mm slab of frozen meat to reach 1ºF less than the water bath’s temperature. I think I understand his math and appreciate it.

Table 2.3: Approximate heating times for frozen meat to 1°F (0.5°C) less than the water bath’s temperature. You can decrease the time by about 13% if you only want to heat the meat to within 2°F (1°C) of the water bath’s temperature.

I recently thawed a frozen Mahi tuna steak to refrigerator temperature 40ºF and then SV’d it quite satisfactorialy. I have another that I will add to the water bath frozen and add 135 minutes to the IIRC 60 minutes recipe cook time. We’ll see.

Coming from a tradition of meat overcooked to oven temperature, SV ‘overcooked’ is pretty meaningless, it is still edible not wasted and a learning experience.

The capacity of our APC heater is 1,000 Watts, which is equal to 0.95 BTU/second, 57 BTU/minute and 3,410 BTU/hour