What did I do wrong?

Hi everyone. I’m new to sous vide and I did my first cooking with ribeye steak last week and it was fine. Not the medium rare texture I was hoping but the meat felt medium and it was tender. However, yesterday I cooked a few bags of chicken breasts using the Anova recipe and it was disappointing. I think I cooked them at 150F for about an hour. Turned out the meat was hard and dry. I seasoned them with pepper, rosemary and lemon. The flavour was there but the taste was like eating boiling chicken in water. What went wrong?

150F will give you a very traditional texture for chicken. I’d suggest trying a lower temp, like 145F. Also, remember that acid will also ‘cook’ protein.

There is also the possibility that it wasn’t a good chicken breast. Birds vary, even those raised together.

It is highly recommended that chicken should be cooked to pasteurisation. This is about the time the meat spent at temperature. Pasteurisation tables can be found in Baldwin’s Guide to Sous Vide here.

You may want to double-check your water temp with a separate thermometer. The first Anova unit I received was calibrated incorrectly and it took a couple of failed cooks before I realized what was going on. The second unit they sent has been rock solid.

Also, you don’t state the cooking temp for the steak or how you finished either the steak or the chicken. Many overcooks are due to problems in the finishing steps.

Thank you for your reply. I guess I will try again at 145F and see how it goes. Btw, what do you mean by acid will cook ‘protein’? And thanks for the reminder about pasteurisation. I am cautious about eating the food and not having a bad stomach after that. So I thought Anova’s recipe should be a safe recipe to follow.