Brisket - 16lbs - assume I should cut it into pieces? Need some advice, please

Hi,
Newbie here.

I am cooking for a crowd of 26 people and this will be my first time attempting to sous vide. I’ve bought a ~16lb beef brisket. What I’m wondering is should I cut it into pieces (assuming yes, so I can flavour and vacuum seal the bags). I just want to make sure I’m doing the right thing there. Is there an issue if I say, cut it into 3 pieces and put them into the same water bath with one Anova sous vide cooker?

Also… from what I’ve read, seems that 72 hours at 135F is ideal. Would everyone concur? I would then plunge it into an ice bath and sear on the BBQ. Have I got that right?

Sorry for so many questions. I am planning to have this on Saturday night, and am starting to panic.

Thanks so much for any input - REALLY appreciate it!

Michelle, your first assumption is correct.

You must be an extremely competent cook to select a beef brisket for your first SV cook. You likely know briskets are one of the most challenging cuts of beef to cook successfuly. Most cooks attempting a new technique start with a less challenging and smaller piece of meat. You are one brave person.

As you know briskets have a natural separation between the Point and Flat parts. Use it to guide your cuttingthe brisket in two. The you can make your choice which one will be cut in half again for your third piece.

That mass of meat will displace abou a gallon of water. Therefore you need to have a vessel with sufficient capacity for ample water circulation.

It seems to me just about evryone has a personal specific doneness preference for brisket and they vary widely. Your brisket will be tender and Medium-Rare.

Thank you, chatnoir, I sincerely appreciate your feedback!

I am a good cook, but I’m definitely a little panicky about this challenge. What makes cooking brisket such a challenge? Knowing the challenges may help me anticipate any potential issues…

Thanks again!

Michelle