Curious Cook Time Question

I am new to all this. I recently saw a video for cooking a pork loin roast. The video showed cooking an 8 lb roast at 140 for 10 hrs. and it came out perfectly. I tried one that was only about 3 pounds (I cut the roast into smaller sections). I cooked it at 140 for 10 hrs not thinking that the weight makes a difference. While the roast was very tender it was dry. Did I cook it for too long? I thought time is for texture and temp is for how done you want it. Not sure if it was just a bad piece of pork or it cooked for too long. I have seen other people say they cook their pork loin roast for 3 hrs. Any info would be appreciated.

I am not sure that the dryness is due to sous vide, as the juices simply have nowhere to go in a vacuum bag. Might it have lost moisture due to searing for too long? And as I’m sure many of our more experienced friends will tell you, cook based on thickness, not weight.

Last week I cooked a ~3 lb pork loin at 137F for ~5 hours and it was moist and tender. I think your 10 hours was a bit excessive, but the extra time should have resulted in a degradation of texture, not in dryness. I suspect your bag wasn’t properly sealed and the roast dried out as a result.

Hey Luv, welcome to your new and different cooking system.

First, forget weight as a significant factor other than the number of portions you need to serve. Weight means little in the low and slow heat penetration world of SV (that would be Sous Vide using your Anova) cooking. Be suspicious of anyone giving you weight-based SV cooking guidance.

Next, the reliability of that video is questionable. You might have been the victim of an over enthusiastic food stylist’s work. And it’s hard to find bad pork, just as it’s hard to find superb pork. Both are rare.