First Sous Vide was overcooked

I am new to sous vide and just tried my first cook with the Anova wifi. I wanted to start with something easy and tried some 1" bone in pork chops.

My problem was overcooked pork chops. They tasted good but were tougher than they should be. I am sure I left them too long. The time set from the anova was one hour and they were in the water at temp 140 for two hours.

I thought sous vide would not overcook with extra holding but maybe not.

Also lastly the meat closer to the bone was pink in color. Not white pink but just pink. Is that normal ?

Thanks in advance,
Rex

1 Like

Itā€™s perfectly fine to eat medium rare pork these days, so there is no panic about the pink. But pink around the bone is not unusual at all. The bone is probably going to be pulling heat out of the meat closest to it. This will happen more with larger bones, but there is still some density in a rib bone. So there are still some brighter myoglobin cells in the areas close to the bone. Nothing to worry about, itā€™s perfectly safe.

Now, as far as the ā€˜toughnessā€™ goes. What type of pork chop were they? Single, dense muscle and little fat cap?

Pork can be a little tricky. Modern pork is bred to be lean with very little intramuscular fat. They are bred, not for flavour but for rapid development. Added to this is the fact that the pork is harvested very young, before the pig starts to develop its fat. This can make some commercially bred pork dense and inclined to be dry. Heritage breed pork is much better if you can find it.

While, I would say that 2 hours should be more than enough for a 1" thick pork chop at my preferred medium rare 103F/54.4C, Douglas Baldwin actually suggests 12 hours for pork chops to allow time for some of those fine, dense fibres to break down particularly if you would rather a more traditional finish to your pork at 141F/61C which will give you a finish with minimal blush.

http://www.douglasbaldwin.com/sous-vide.html#Pork