Help with beef back ribs

Hi all,

I’m new to this oven and also just a novice cook. I need some help converting this regular oven recipe to something that would work with the APO:

Beef back ribs (1 rack - covered with foil), preheat to 375 and cook for 1.5 hours, then let sit in oven for 30mins.

For the APO I was thinking:

• I shouldn’t have to cover the rack and instead use steam at 80-100%? Then again I’m not sure if the point of covering it is to stop juices from splashing or to create a pseudo steam effect.
  • The time can be cut down to 1 hour? Or just use probe? I never used a probe before so unsure what temp I should set it to or where in the meat I should stick it since they’re ribs? If I use the probe do I have to preheat the oven? I’m thinking trying to insert that probe in a hot oven with oven mitts is going to be a pain in the ass
  • Temp stay the same or drop by 25 degrees?

Sorry for my noobness. Any tips would be highly appreciated!

Hi and welome Cactuar7,

Have you cooked Beef Back Ribs using that recipe?
Of so, did you enjoy your results?

That’s a menu item this cook has steadfastly avoided, so I’ll defer to other Community members who can offer you better guidance based on experience.

Being a self described novice cook you might want to consider taking a few preliminary steps along your culinary journey before taking on Beef Ribs. Something simple and with which you have been successful. Meatloaf comes to mind as being particularly difficult to screw up. And you get to use your probe too.

Have you read the manual, particularly about the use of the probe?

I’m pretty sure there’s a Ribs 101 recipe on the app, FWIW. Might be worth a look.,

My approach is low and slow:

• 6-ish hours at 146, 100% steam
  • Remove the ribs, dry them off, and let the steam out of the oven.
  • 3-5 minutes under the broiler (top element only, maybe 375) until they get a little colour
  • Flip for another 3-5 minutes
  • Sauce and two minutes per side to set.