Just tried to do hard boiled eggs using the app - eggs were far from hard...not edible..

This is my first time using the Anova. I used the app’s guide to make hard boiled eggs expecting this to be an easier task but the eggs were far from ready after the timer stopped. Any reason why this didn’t work out? I can get the differences when cuts of meat are different but I don’t get why hard boiling eggs failed miserably.

Wecome to your Community forum Andy.

Eggs can be frustratingly difficult to hard cook at low temperatures. You just experienced your first lesson in SV cooking, all apps are not created to be universally successful.

Next you need to know that in precion cooking details are important. You haven’t revealed any details so defining the reason for you would be nothing more than guesswork.

There are a couple of Hard Boiled Egg recipes with significantly different cooking temperatures and times in the Anova app catalogue.

Your eggs didn’t work out because something was wrong in the technique.
Are you able to clarify what you did? For example, was the water bath temperature at the Anova’s set point before adding the eggs?
Time and temperature details are always helpful if not critical in diagnosing the cause of a failure.

You should be aware that the texture of SV cooked eggs will always be different than conventionally cooked hard boiled eggs due to the lower temperatures used. Your Anova won’t boil water.

To me, the usual SV egg results are more like hard-poached eggs if you can imagine somethat that repulsive.

If you expect the conventional totally hard cooked eggs, have you considered boiling them?

Well, I’m going by the built in guide and the images / directions that it shows. I was mostly curious to see how it handled the eggs and figured if there is a guide (assuming official) showing how to cook the eggs the way you want them then it should lead to expected results