Novice Guide

Hi
I received my anova oven this week. I have never cooked anything sous vide and really have no clue but wanted to try something new.

I was sent the link to the sous vide guide but found it terrifying and overwhelming.

I have emailed support a couple of times.

There seems to be very little to guide a newbie on using the oven or creating my own recipes.
The app does have a good supply of recipes but it doesn’t cover everything.

Any suggestions as to how best to learn without feeling overwhelmed.

Absolutely: Ask your questions here. People on this forum are very quick to help and also very knowledgeable (@chatnoir for example, is a very well-travelled chef whose grasp if the science is better than anyone I’ve ever come across). I myself was a complete noob when I started with my oven late last fall, and he and the others on the forum have kept me safe and well-fed.

One thing I HAVE noticed is that some of the recipes in the app, especially fish recipes, tend to land you up with what I, as a bit of a traditionalist, consider way too fleshy, so don’t be afraid to Google the correct finished temperatures and question what you’re being told. Use your experience, ask questions, and learn from the experienced folks on this forum.

So, what kind of foods do you plan to cook? I am a more traditional BBQ/smoker user, but, of course, winter in Canada tends to bring me indoors, so the APO has been a lot of fun for things like nice, thick steaks, roasts, ribs, and, most recently the most amazing pork shoulder I have ever had (but I cheated and finished it with heavy smoke on my smoker).

So, what do you want to make today?

Hi again Jess, when working with novice cooks this cat first tells them, “Go slow to go fast.”