Pan - which one to buy?

Hey,

I’m buying a new pan and I just don’t know which one to buy… I’m stuck between this two…

and

which one would you choose?

+1 for Lodge

However one is cast iron and the other stainless steel so it all depends on what you plan on using it for.

I don’t see why you can’t get both, I love New kitchen toys.

1 Like

I know… I will use it mainly as my primary pan, but I would also like to have something to sear “sous vide” steaks, without cooking them too much over the sous vide temp.

haha believe me I’m a fanatic of kitchen tools… :stuck_out_tongue: I mean… I love cooking that’s my passion so for my if it’s worth spending money on something that’s cooking stuff. The problem is that I’m a little tight with money as I’m a student and right now I can’t afford to buy them both. If money wouldn’t be the problem instad of the carbon plus de buyer I would also rather choose “mineral b” de buyer pan :slight_smile:

Cast iron is very versatile and is a better choice for searing, due to its superior heat retention. And with a modicum of care it will outlive you and multiple generations of your descendants.

Carbon steel is lighter and easier to handle, and with somewhat better thermal conductivity (which means the pan will heat more evenly). It’s also more rust-resistant. But the reduction in mass comes at the cost of a corresponding reduction in heat retention.

I know all of that… It’s just that I would like a all around pan with the possibility of searing a steak without continuing to cook it too much. Of course the de buyer’s pan is more suitable for a all around pan it’s just that question that is bothering me… “does it heat enough to do the job I mentioned above?”