Request; existing product, or invention idea.

A ‘shape’ to insert in everted cooking bags to keep them under control in the dishwasher.

I have my eye out for perhaps a 1/4” diameter coil spring long enough as a circle to hold the bag flat.

Another idea is flat plastic sheeting cut to fit nicely in plastic bags.

As it is, I have been putting the bags over approximately sized plates, but I worry about the bag coming adrift and resting on the heating element. I worried about the high temperature drying cycle but so far it seems a non-issue.

Hi Douglas, and here i thought i was a frugal cook.
Congratulations, you are seeking the pinnacle of frugality sir!

Are you turning the bags inside out for cleaning?
Are you cleaning them soon after use.
Are you using the less aggressive action on the top shelf of the dishwasher to prevent contact with heating elements?
Does your dishwasher have a “gentle” cycle?

It’s an interesting challenge, proteins have an affinity for attaching themselves to plastics like barnacles on rocks.

Your plate solution with reversed bags is likely effective in exposing the soiled interior of the bags to the mechanical and chemical action of your dishwasher.

My concern is the effect on plastic of the harsh caustic ingredients in the dishwashing compound used. It’s been my experience, although not with cooking bags, repeated exposure to most dishwashing compounds has a deleterious impact on unglazed plastic wares.

Please keep us informed of your progress.

Inside out (everted), yes. ‘Dirty’ side out.

Immediately, yes, next DW load.

Top shelf, yes.

Gentle cycle, yes, but I use the Pots & Pans and Sani Rinse and Heated dry cycles, wo far with no issues.

‘Plate solution’ is good for the bags, but not so much the plates as I have had to hand re-wash a few.