Two step heating

Hello, Newbie here. Sorry if this has been discussed before…

Others have mentioned using heated plates for keeping food warmer…and that’s a good idea.
Does it make sense to kick up the temperature a few degrees for the last 10-15 minutes or so, or will that cook it too much beyond the desired temperature?
For example, if I cook chicken for an hour at 145, could I tack on 15 minutes at 150 to get things started from a warmer perspective, or is this just a waste of time?
Searing things for only a few minutes doesn’t seem like enough to get the food much warmer.

Thanks

No. Sous vide cooking is all about precision and the ability to create edge to edge done-ness without a temperature gradient through your food. “Kicking up the temperature a few degrees for the last 10-15 minutes or so” will create a gradient. In 15 minutes that gradient will penetrate approximately 1/4 inch. If your searing technique isn’t perfect you’ll push that gradient deeper.

You’re not wanting to get the food warmer than its desired done-ness. This is not why people sear. Searing is about creating a Maillard reaction on the surface of your product which produces a much more appealing finish and tastes good to boot.

Thank you. This makes sense. Hot plate is the way to go, it sounds.
Lots to learn about SV and habits to break.
My wife won’t eat Chicken cooked at 142, since it’s “pink”; tried 146 tonight for 1:45 and it was mostly not pink…she would like it not pink…so will try 147. Will get there.

Thanks again.

My wife and I also use a counter top convection over set to a warm but not too hot temp (say 130 or a little warmer) to hold food for a bit until ready to serve. Don’t need it most of the time, but in those instances where different dishes are done at different times it really helps.