What's your favorite go to Sous Vide recipe?

I’m new to sous vide cooking and want a recipe to wow my family. What can you recommend?

Try this . . . Recipe: Sous Vide Lamb Rack – Anova Culinary

I love sous-vide for many things, but where the technique really shines is in cooking lean meats that should not be rare such as chicken breast.

One particular favourite of mine is skin-on breast of Guineafowl. This very tasty bird is notoriously tricky to not screw up with traditional techniques. Brining the breasts and cooking them 90-120 minutes @ 60°C. After searing you have some real birde nam-nam.

Seasoning can be varied depending on your mood. One of my favourites is to put some reduced riesling and orange zest in the bag.

1 Like

Thick Cut Bone in Pork Chops, Skirt Steak, Short Rib *Favorite, or Pork Belly consistently wow guests. Sous Vide plays very well with tough flavorful cuts that could not be cooked any other way. *Just Google those ingredients + sous vide and you should find a few good recipes. the only way to learn is trial and error… recipe times and sequences of procedures are a good guide. Check out ChefSteps.com they have some great recipes and tutorials.

Most people don’t do them very often, but 72-hour cooked short ribs are pretty amazing. I’ve done them twice and they’re pretty killer. Here’s a recipe for them from our blog: Recipe: Cocoa Dusted Short Ribs – Anova Culinary

I’m looking forward to trying some 72-hour short ribs! I just have to find out where I can get English cut short ribs though since my normal grocery store usually only has flanken cut. My guess is the butcher will probably be able to get them for me, they just have to cut them the better (right) way.