Custom Recipes

I am new to Anova but I have been cooking sous vide at home for three plus years. 

I would like the ability to add my own recipes with the ability to set time and temp respectively. While the included recipes are interesting often I just want to bring up my choice. For example, Steak Rare: 123f 55 min. Chicken Leg: 165f 75 min. Simple and not a lot of steps or choices.

As others have noted the Android scroll interface for temp and time selection is painful. Raw salmon(103f) one night to chicken leg (165f) will try my patience.

Steve

Since the timer function doesn’t do anything special, it’s just a basic timer, and not even a very good one at that, I don’t even bother with the app and just use the dial on the front of the unit to set the temp.  My timing is done by a ThermoWorks time stick / time stick pro, but I know many people who use the timers on their cell phones with great succuess (not the Anova in app timer, just a basic timer app).

@SteveK there is a manual control in the app that will allow you to set the time and temperature without having to use a recipe. Are you using the Bluetooth or WI-FI system? And are you on Android or iOS?

Understood but the scrolling on Android is less than ideal.  To go from a 110F squid recipe to a 165f chicken leg is a lot of scrolling. Faster to just manually scroll on the machine.

My comment is more for future development of the app as I use temperatures from multiple sources.  Not having to pull out and open a book to find the temp is my real interest in a custom recipe capability.

Many of the time/temp I know off the top of my head but for things like squid, escargot and others I have to crack the book.     

This. I would also very much like the ability to use the existing recipes in the app, but modify the timing.