Do you use the Anova to reheat anova cooked food?

I am new to Anova and wanted to know if Anova was used to reheat foods?  If so, what kind of success have you had.

@leroyn3691 Great question - you can store leftovers in the fridge or freezer and drop it right back into the bath to reheat without worrying about overcooking :slight_smile:

My only concern with this is that if the vacuum-seal has been broken and it has been stored for a couple of days, you might wanna reheat it at higher temps 85C/186F just to kill the bacterias on the surface of the food :slight_smile: but sure, at work we do this with meats, example a packet of fillet which has been heated to 55C/131F one day, can be heated again 1 more time the following day and keep the same quality :slight_smile: (we sear it on the pan afterwards, so that kills off bacteria and gives a nice crust!)

I have used mine to reheat a chicken breast that we still vacuum sealed after cooking. I might make 3 at a time and reheat them over the next couple of days for lunch or differ. Regular leftovers I would agree that they probably should be heated to a higher temperature.

So if I made short ribs at 144 degrees, then freeze it in the freezer, when I want to eat it, do I drop it back to water bath at 144? Then leave it in for how long? Thank you.

@Aquacook said:
So if I made short ribs at 144 degrees, then freeze it in the freezer, when I want to eat it, do I drop it back to water bath at 144? Then leave it in for how long? Thank you.

I would say a little over an hour should do it. It is really based on how thick they are and if they have a bone or not. They first have to thaw then heat to 144° or a little less all the way through. You would then remove them from the vacuum bag season and sear the meat.

I’ve reheated vacuum-sealed steak in the microwave once. Once.