How switch off/disable the alarm?

How switch off/disable the alarm?

I use the stick to make yogurt and the ready time was 06:00 (start at 21:00, timer set for 9h), I don’t want any acoustical alarm, it should simply switch off.

The opposite happen, the alarm rang beeped forever and the stick did not switch off.

Any way to fix that alarm issue? Or do need to disassemble?

The only way to disable the alarm is at the device itself, by pressing the stop button or turning the unit off.

I suggest not to use the alarm on the Anova because it doesn’t do anything useful and, as you discovered, annoys you indefinitely. Use a kitchen timer or an alarm on your phone instead.

1 Like

I am a total beginner here. Thanks for that feedback.

Does the SV stick switches off when the time is up? Mine was set at 43°C and when I finally switched the alarm off after a while it was still at 43°C.

After switching it off from the app the temp dropped very fast.

So when you say “the alarm … doesn’t do anything useful”, you mean it’s just beep sound with no function?

Yes, that is exactly what it does.

1 Like

As you’ve noticed the precision cooker doesn’t turn off when time is up. The beep is just a courtesy reminder.

Having the unit turn off would be a food safety issue. If it went off and for some reason you weren’t there to take care of it the cook would be sitting unattended cooling slowly. It would probably not take long to drop into the ‘danger zone.’ Perhaps not such a problem with your yoghurt production, but undesirable with other cooks.

Having it remain cooking matters way less. Overcooking isn’t really an issue and time is fairly flexible with sous vide processing.

2 Likes

What is a safety issue should be decided by the user. Having the device run forever is a safety issue too. And having an alarm you don’t care about in the middle of the night is also not good.