Latest Android app update and device interface questions

Sorry for the long post, but I would like to ask some questions regarding the latest app upgrade and the overall device operation interface. I am a software developer so hopefully I have some understanding in the subject, plus I’d like to give Anova some feedback.

The latest app upgrade recently pushed on Android (not sure about iPhone) did modify the main device operation screen. It feels like the old app version was designed for iPhone and ported to Android. The old interface feels Apple - like. You see the realistic device icon with the actual temp and timer settings, you touch temp and can modify it, you touch timer and can modify it as well.

Now we have “PC” style buttons so set temp and timer. This is of course a matter of preference and taste but to me it feels like a step backwards. The interface aesthetics is not there anymore.

The real problem with the latest app version is that the timer is rendered useless and I just stopped using it.
In the past I could set temp / timer and the timer would start right after the set temp was reached.
This is also how the device operates in standalone mode so it was very intuitive and easy for the user.
Now there is a new popup on the phone (which you can easily miss) saying something like “Set temperature reached, do you want to start timer?”. Unless I confirm the popup message on the phone the timer would not start. If I happen to place the food in advance and miss the popup (which happened a few times already) I will overcook the food.

The second problem in my opinion is that when the timer elapsed it should stop device. Instead, it keeps circulating and maintaining the temperature. There is another popup you have to go through to stop the device.