What should I cook as my first ever Sous Vide meal? Need a knock your socks off dish!

Hi guys. I am waiting for my Anova precision to arrive and was wondering what I should cook as my first ever meal?

I am looking for that knock your socks off dish that will definitively win over my silent partners (wife) support for the purchase!

I don’t want it to be a failure =}

If you can let me know what dish and temps and times that would be great!

Much appreciated.

PS. I am in Aus so will do my best to get the meat cuts you suggest, but they may not be equivalents.

1 Like

G’day, and what an easy question.
It’s so refreshing to learn there’s a beginner here who plans ahead.
Thank you.

There several really competent SV cooks in this community who like you live upside down on our planet. Among them “Ember” and “michihenning” are to be trusted emphatically here. My observation is that it doesn’t make much difference though. Food’s food, only the names may change.

First off, and please remember this always, it’s not your meal. For success your choice must be based on your Silent Bride’s likes and dislikes as you know them. Surely you know at least some of them. The cat recommends always avoiding cooking her dislikes and focusing just on her likes. Make a list, and focus on building your culinary repertoire on her likes. Life’s too long not to. If you enjoy some of her dislikes, have them whenever she goes to visit her mother.

If you arrive at twenty “Likes” that’s plenty to start, probably even far too many as you want to leave some room for personal culinary growth. Consider that most families don’t ever exceed 20 main course menu items in all their lives.