Looking for a torch head

I’m new to sous vide (as in only used it 4 or 5 times so far) and have been using a torch to sear up the meat. I’m using a TS4000 because I happened to have one but I’d like to get a dedicated torch for this and leave the garage torch in the garage.

I was looking at getting a TS8000 but I’d like to look bigger. My first attempt at torching was like most you tube videos… some makeshift grill over a cookie sheet done in the kitchen. Works fine and all but the smoke detector really didn’t appreciate me crisping up the fat. I started doing this on the BBQ or gas grill depending on where you’re from. No worries about flame damage and also the BBQ is lit just to keep the meat from getting cold.

So since I always have a 30Lb tank of propane handy I’d like a torch that I can run off that, and get a lot more BTU out of too. Using the little TS4000 is barely enough when doing a few steaks for the family but I think would come up short if I do sous vide for entertaining.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks,
Ryan

I do have the TS8000, married with a Searzall. I still sear in my cast iron skillet on the range top (I’m in an apartment) - I do have a Weber electric BBQ on my balcony, but it doesn’t get hot enough for steak - at least, not to do them the way I like. :slight_smile:
I really wish the BBQ companies would realize that they’re missing a huge opportunity and give us a nice searing station for the range top. Something that puts out about 40,000 BTU’s in about a 12" x 20" space. :slight_smile:

I think as sous vide catches on more, we’ll see other options come available. It’s still very much a developing market (at least here in north america that is) :slight_smile:

1 Like

You could always build a Turbaque.

If that’s a bit much, there is always the humble half-million BTU weed burner from the local big box hardware store.

:wink: