Seafood Recommendation

Ever since a childhood trauma (don’t ask) I’ve had a dislike of seafood. Battered white fish fillet with chips is about as far as I usually go. Obviously seafood has various health benefits, and I understand that cooking fish sous-vide can give spectacular results, so I’m keen to give it a go. As you can probably appreciate, I’m a complete novice when it comes to fish, and a bit squeamish when it comes to things like crab, squid, mussels and the like, so I would be most interested in seeing simple beginner-level recommendations for fish fillets, preferably not from over-fished stocks such as tuna. So what should I try?

To start out with I would suggest that you try and get fresh seafood if at all possible. If you cannot get fresh then try frozen. Stay away from fish marked previously frozen as you have no idea how long it has been since it was thawed. I also will not eat farm raised salt water fish for a variety of reasons including their food. I would start with the mildest white fish you can get and work up to the bolder flavors. Also rock lobster is very good with a little drawn butter.

I live near the Indian Ocean (Perth, Western Australia) and there’s a large fresh fish supplier just down the road from where I work. The white fish sounds ideal, do you have a link to a recipe you think will be suitable?

@Simon_C What I would suggest is to look on the internet for a halibut or cod recipe that appeals to you. Both are milder white fish and would be similar to what you can get. I normally have my fish pretty plain maybe with just a little fresh dill and sea salt. You also can get fresh flounder which is a very delicate mild fish and one of my favorites. You are lucky to have such a variety of fish unfortunately I am not familiar with most of them. I see you have varieties of snapper as well. I would suggest them as the second step on your journey into seafood.