Which one to buy: Anova One or Precision Cooker?

I am new to sous vide and would like to buy a basic circulating heater. Anova seems a good company but I am confused between the nearly identical Anova One and the new Precision Cooker. I’ve looked at the very unimpressive iphone app so don’t see any particular advantage to the Precision Cooker and it’s wiz bang potential. Is the flexible clamp sufficient reason to go with the Precision Cooker or is the Anova One a better bet?

Bump. Any opinions? Anyone out there tried both models? Which one would you buy today?

Unless you need the higher power output of the Anova One, I would think that the Precision would be a better fit for you. The redesigned clamp makes it easier to use the circulator with a variety of containers.

@IslandTractor Both are great units and will get the job done. Although the Anova One will heat up the water a bit faster, it really comes down to whether you want the Bluetooth connectivity. There will be iterations to the Anova Culinary app so the connected experience is going to get better and better.

Is anyone aware of a blog post or review that compares cooking with the One vs Precision models? I appreciate the potential for app related control enhancements in the future but balance that against the mature, bugs worked out, benefits of the One. I guess too many years of dealing with “new improved” versions of Windows (Vista anybody?) has me a tad shy about being on the bleeding edge of new tech products. Honestly were it not for the new clamp style I’d probably have placed an order for the One already.

Thanks for your thoughts.

@IslandTractor Totally get where you’re coming from, while I can vouch for both, here’s a thread on reddit from a while back that you might find useful in comparing if you want to look at a few more opinions: http://www.reddit.com/r/sousvide/comments/2hulji/new_anova_precision_cooker_vs_the_anova_one/