WIFI does not work and is ridiculous

ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT IT SHOULD NOT BE THIS HARD TO CONNECT THE WIFI! The amount of resetting and reconfiguring and rebooting and restarting and all that is RIDICULOUS! I am not a novice - I have administered networks and have installed a number of smart devices - and this device is RIDICULOUS! My 2.4 and 5 networks had to be totally reconfigured so I could separate them and disable the 5 network, my anova is 2 feet from the router, I have uninstalled and reinstalled and redone the setup 6 or 7 times, I have telephoned and emailed Anova support and have done all of their troubleshooting. I have WASTED so much TIME on this! So pissed that I spent the extra $50 to get the wifi version of Anova. IT DOES NOT CONNECT TO WIFI!

8 Likes

Sorry to hear you’re having trouble with connecting to wi-fi. :frowning: Have you also followed up with customer support and let them know all of the troubleshooting steps do not work? If not, please let them know. They’ll go from there.

I love love love my APC but @jgabelhudson is right, the WiFi is far too annoying to be useful anymore. In retrospect I find the WiFi feature to be unnecessary. One of the benefits of cooking SV is that you don’t have to keep a close eye on things. Set it and forget it, right? The ice bath feature sounds nice but I honestly will probably never use it. And everybody knows the timer function is worthless. I kick myself for spending the extra money for the WiFi access but then justify it by remembering that it’s 100 watts stronger than the BT version. So I’ve got that going for me.

Having said all this, I still love my Anova. Using the wheel on the front of the unit is easy enough to set the temperature. I’ve been fortunate enough to not have a stinky unit or any issues with steam vapors. I use it 2 to 3 times a week and have always been happy with the results. Like I said, I LOVE my APC but the WiFi and timer leave a lot to be desired. Just my $0.02.